Home » Uncategorized » Do Not Send Me Off Alone

Do Not Send Me Off Alone

These thoughts came to me as I sat in a very empty funeral home next to the body of a friend, as I pondered why we stand watch over the departed.

Do Not Send Me Off Alone

No comfort gives the pillow soft

You place beneath my head.

To ease your fears

And dry your tears

You primp and dress the dead.

 

Not in silks nor finest clothing

Need my body be adorned

All that I ask,

One simple task:

Do not send me off alone.

 

My body takes its resting place

By my spirit still will roam

And though I know

To whence I go

Please don’t send me off alone.

 

This one last time, your presence share

As I flee my useless bones

Though I cannot hear

I’ll know you’re near

And did not send me off alone.

 

With me you cannot travel

Nay, tonight I’ll walk alone

But for today

An hour stay

And with peace I’ll travel home.

Leave a Reply

